Home > All, Reenactment > Piotr Zacharski tells us more about Hardened Steel

Piotr Zacharski tells us more about Hardened Steel


– Hello Piotr, can you tell me more about hardened steel? We really need more information about this. I’ve seen the price for hardened gear is much higher and the stuff is really good quality. Can you tell us why?

 

– In the production of armours I use spring steel.
This includes carbon steel so it can be hardened, it is also more akin to that used in the Middle Ages. I do not use steel St3 because it is too soft and can not be tempered. All elements are manufactured by hand, I do not use presses. Each piece is made by me for an individual order, adapted to the dimensions of the customer.
I’m trying to make armour comfortable, safe and compatible with those from the Middle Ages.
Making armours I use my years of experience in the fighting (dual, bohurt and others).
In fight I use armour made by myself.

How are the armours made by me …

At the beginning I collect historical documentation.
Then I create the project, and prepare the appropriate pattern.
It is then applied and cut from a sheet of metal.
Using hammers, the shapes are formed.
when it is ready I grind and polish them.
Then it is subjected to heat treatment, where it becomes tough and resilient.
It often happens that during the hardening the element is permanently deformed.
Then I have to, unfortunately, start from the beginning.
Deformed pieces are suitable for scrap.

However, if the hardening is ending succeed…
I must to clean the carbon deposits that are formed during the quenching process.
This must be done manually, so as not to overheat the steel. If it has become overheated it becomes softer, thus more vulnerable to damage.

This technology is much more difficult, but the armours done in that way are safer, lighter and more durable.

Hardened hourglass in progress

Categories: All, Reenactment
  1. Bystander
    January 17, 2011 at 9:48 PM

    Once my friend made armor too hard, so it lost its flexibility and after suffering few hits cracked like glass.

  2. January 17, 2011 at 11:24 PM

    Maybe it depends of the quality of the “hardening”. And also, maybe the best solution would be leather + hardened steel for great flexibility.

  3. October 4, 2011 at 11:11 AM

    Armour was poorly done.
    Steel was badly inured, was too highly tempered.
    Well-made armor is almost not corruptible.
    1 mm tempered steel is strong as 3mm st3 (mild and low carbon steel),.
    Hardened armor is much lighter, extremely durable and comfortable.
    Thanks to their properties to better protect you.
    Regards

  4. allan
    November 23, 2012 at 1:59 PM

    Dear Piotr Zacharski,

    We are a small danish group starting up our own company of knights, but we also want to forge our own armour. Just like you do it.

    We will also be useing spring steel for this, what recommendation do you have for the thickness of the spring steel.

    how thick should the armour at least be ?

    Helmet
    arms and elbows
    legs and knee joins
    body armor =

    sincerley

    Allan

  5. February 3, 2013 at 10:23 AM

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors &
    theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you
    hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

  6. April 8, 2013 at 5:22 PM

    Hi there Dear, are you truly visiting this web page daily, if so
    after that you will absolutely get fastidious know-how.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

